Alan Smithee

AKB48’s Biopic “To Be Continued” Arrives December 1st

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

I’ll give you one guess who on the WPR staff is excited for this release…and no it’s NOT either one of the Ryans.

Being the staff weeaboo means that I’m always having to be on top of the latest in JPOP and various idols from Japan. It’s no joke when I say that I can list a good chunk of the members in the 59+ member group AKB48. Yeah, I’m that type of fan.

The golden age of Japan/America relations is upon us as the DVD release of New People Entertainment’s Documentary of AKB48 To Be Continued is set for December 1st. AKB48 is the brain child of Akimoto Yasushi (a very prolific Japanese producer) and consists of 60 members that all perform or have performed on the 8th floor theatre inside of a Donki shop in the Akihabara district of Tokyo. Get it? AKB = AKiBa!

Ok I’m waay too riled up over this group already and I’m afraid my inner creepy weeaboo self will surface if I talk too much about the group. Suffice it to say that they’re a record breaking group (no seriously, they own the world record for largest pop group) that has just DOMINATED the Oricon charts over the last few years and have sold over ten MILLION records in just a short amount of time.

The documentary will be available for either pre-order through the New People Store for only $19.99 on DVD, or via rental on the New People Channel for $4.99 for a 2-day rental. If you happen to jump in on a preorder, New People is currently giving you an additional DVD with your purchase from their product line, though it has to be one of the ones listed below.

  • Detroit Metal City
  • Gackt Blue
  • Gackt Red
  • Linda Linda Linda
  • NANA
  • NANA2

May I suggest Detroit Metal City? Think of it, sweet on one disc, rape on the other…it kind of balances out! Not to mention you’ll also only be spending about $20 for both movies! You’d better hurry though, the offer runs out on the 30th of this month. Now run and be a good consumer like I am.

Leave us a Comment