Adrienne Fox

BOOM! Studios and Archaia Celebrate Jim Henson’s Birthday

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page
Art by Jake Myler. Henson photo courtesy of the Jim Henson Archives.

Art by Jake Myler. Henson photo courtesy of the Jim Henson Archives.

No doubt that Jim Henson’s influence is a cornerstone in American culture. Today BOOM! Studios and the imprint Archaia celebrate the birthday of Jim Henson. He is a beloved creator that brought us decades of entertainment through The Storyteller, Fraggle Rock, and of course The Muppets. Jim Henson’s creations reached people’s hearts and gave us so much more than we ever could have hoped on our television screens.

Some news from BOOM! Studios:

Archaia, an imprint of BOOM! Studios, has had the honor of working closely with The Jim Henson Company on titles such as Fraggle Rock and the novelizations of The Dark Crystal, Labyrinth, and The Storyteller. In honor of Jim Henson’s birthday, we’re giving everyone an early preview of two Henson titles releasing next week, October 1st.

The first is Jim Henson’s The Musical Monsters of Turkey Hollow, based on a never-produced treatment for a television special written by Jim Henson and Jerry Juhl, adapted, illustrated, and hand-lettered by Eisner award-winning creator Roger Langridge (Snarked!, The Muppet Show Comic Book). This all-ages adventure is perfect for fans of Fraggle Rock.

The second is Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand: The Illustrated Screenplay. Archaia produced the multiple Eisner award-winning graphic novel adaptation of the lost screenplay from Jim Henson and Jerry Juhl in 2011. The Illustrated Screenplay features the complete and final 1974 draft of the project with Jim and Jerry’s handwritten edits as well as layouts and inked pages from the adaptation in gorgeous black-and-white, and never-before-seen sequences that were cut during the production of the graphic novel, newly illustrated by Ramón K. Pérez.

Look for these covers at your local shop next week! Or you can order them through these links and support WatchPlayRead: Jim Henson Musical Monsters Of Turkey Hollow HC and Jim Hensons Tale Of Sand Box Set.

Archaia's cover of The Musical Monsters of Turkey Hollow. Looks like great fun for fraggle fans!

Archaia’s cover of The Musical Monsters of Turkey Hollow. Looks like great fun for fraggle fans!

Tale of Sand cover by Ramon K. Perez--it's just stunning!

Tale of Sand cover by Ramon K. Perez–it’s just stunning!

Leave us a Comment