Hayley Knighten

Book Review: Awesome Jones

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Imagine a fairy tale read by Stan Lee: romance and magic combined with high-flying, comic book action. The result is Awesome Jones.

FinalAwesomeJonesCover_650X433

you have to start believing that you can be the man you want to be.

Awesome is a regular guy living in an extraordinary world where superheroes patrol the city and wield incredible powers. Awesome isn’t one of them. He reads their comics and dreams of being a hero, but he’s a regular guy working a desk job. His life turns around when he falls in love with his co-worker Lona Chang. Lona sees something special in Awesome. Her faith in him and the mysteries behind his parent’s death spur him on a journey of self-discovery and danger. Awesome is forced to choose between love and, risking everything to become a hero and live up to his name.

AshleyRose Sullivan’s début novel is a refreshing reminder of what comics book heroes were like before the current gritty superhero reboot trend. Awesome possess nobility and integrity reminiscent of heroes from the ’30s and ’40s. He proves that superheros don’t need to be dark and broody to be authentic. Sullivan carefully crafts her novel opening with a clipped, omniscient narrative filled with lists, and chores illustrating the minutiae of everyday life that immerses Awesome. That is reality. Not over-saturated skylines and deep gravelly voices, but making dinner, reading the paper, and wanting to be special.

As the novel progresses, Sullivan introduces more detail and brings the audience closer to the characters. We take a journey with Awesome and discover a rich detailed superhero world with an incredible history. Awe-inspiring superheroes become real and tangible. These are characters that readers will identify with.

Once the action begins, Awesome Jones requires superhuman strength to put down. Sulllivan writes gripping action and page-turning suspense.The character’s rise from obscurity will appeal to fans of Spider-man, Disney’s The Incredibles and the CW television series Smallville. Awesome Jones also has enough romance and magic to satiate anyone who grew up loving fairy tales. An inspirational read, that celebrates the magic in the details and the hero inside us all.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login