Adrienne Fox

Baltimore: Chapel of Bones – Comic Review

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Don’t miss Lord Baltimore’s finale! Will he be able to stop this vampire plague at last? Lord Baltimore must prevail in the Chapel of Bones for the sake of all humanity.

Baltimore: Chaple of Bones #1 cover from darkhorse.com

Baltimore: Chapel of Bones #1 cover from darkhorse.com

Baltimore: Chapel of Bones #1 (of 2)
Writer: Mike Mignola and Christopher Golden
Artist: Ben Stenbeck
Cover Art: Ben Stenbeck and Dave Stewart
Publisher: Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: January 1, 2014

A mother and her child, who shows signs of the plague, are rounded up at a train station. A mysterious robed figure silently rides a train toward London. Mister Childress, Doctor Rose, and Demetrius Aischros philosophize quietly over drinks at the Ugly Muse—at the appointed date and time as set forth in Baltimore’s invitation. So starts the finale of Lord Henry Baltimore’s story.

The proprietor of the Ugly Muse closes up shop and Baltimore’s companions ask for a room at the inn. A gentleman named Bentley pipes up and offers the three lodgings in his artist studio just upstairs. As the guests take in the decor, they are taken aback by Bentley’s disturbing painting and sculpture. Bentley reveals he hears voices that guide his creations before politely offering everyone a brandy. Meanwhile our robed figure makes his way on foot among the damned slaying demons as he goes. Back in Bentley’s studio, his malevolent master steps from the shadow to threaten the lives of Baltimore’s cohorts. The men are armed with a gun and knife against the unknown. What are their odds of survival at the hands of the vampire that Baltimore seeks? The Haigus tells the companions of his ongoing saga and how his fate is tied to Baltimore. As the sculptures begin to attack Childress, Rose, and Aischros begin the fight for their lives. The book concludes with the studio doors bursts open and an ominous character (with a prosthetic leg) armed with knives and swords and ready for battle. Baltimore has arrived!

Chapel of Bones #1 is the first half of the conclusion of the Baltimore story. Sad for us fans. However, all things must come to an end and this epic tale is shaping up to be one helluva of an ending. If you are new to Baltimore’s plight, you might want to start with first comics, Baltimore HC Volume 1: The Plague Ships, or with the illustrated novel Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire published by Spectra.

Recommendation: For anyone who loves Gothic tales and classic vampire stories. Also, recommended for readers of Hellboy, BPRD, Buffy the Vampire Slayer Classic and Tales of the Vampires, and graphic versions of Edgar Allen Poe, Ambrose Bierce, and Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley.

Leave us a Comment